I DON’T THINK I AM UP TO THE TASK, LORD!

For me, these past two weeks, though it marks the end of a phase and the beginning of a new phase, it has not been a great time. It has been a time where the shakable is being shaken and only the unshakable remains. The process is not an easy one because you come face to face with yourself, which is not an easy thing to do. 

So the feeling of inadequacy seeps into me. I feel I am not up to the tasks God is giving to me and I am unworthy to even build whatever he has called me to build.

I am certain not only I feel this way, but many other men also get to that point in their lives where they just mutter or shout the words, “I don’t think I am up to the task, Lord!

You can’t keep on feeling this way or thinking you are so unworthy for the assignments God has given you no matter what. God has called you to a task, to partner with him, to do or build something great. He knows you are up to the task that is why he called you.

Most times we don’t know who we are and what personal power God has instilled in us for the task He has called us to do. It may be because of many things such as our inadequacies, insecurities, background, words people have spoken to us and what they call us have boxed us and made us small.

You can keep calling yourself what you are not and allow all that define you or you can believe what God says about you. The choice is yours.

Moses had always been an exceptional person from birth, the scripture calls him a special baby. But he didn’t quite fully comprehend that, maybe because he was in the wilderness stage of his life. But we saw how God encountered him through that burning bush experience in that state of his life.

But Moses protested to God, “Who am I to appear before Pharaoh? Who am I to lead the people of Israel out of Egypt?” (Exodus 3:11)

God told Moses He will deliver the Children of Israel through him. Moses told God, “I don’t think I am up to the task, Lord!” He kept on doing that to the point of telling God to send someone else even after God had given him signs and promised to go with him. He even mentioned his many inadequacies to God as we do also.

God answered, “I will be with you. And this is your sign that I am the one who has sent you: When you have brought the people out of Egypt, you will worship God at this very mountain.” (Exodus 4:12)

Stop doubting what God can achieve through you. Stop dismissing the task God has given to you with excuses.

But Moses pleaded with the Lord, “O Lord, I’m not very good with words. I never have been, and I’m not now, even though you have spoken to me. I get tongue-tied, and my words get tangled.”

Then the Lord asked Moses, “Who makes a person’s mouth? Who decides whether people speak or do not speak, hear or do not hear, see or do not see? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go! I will be with you as you speak, and I will instruct you in what to say.” (Exodus 4:10-12)

God specializes in choosing senseless and foolish things to shame the wise and powerless things to shame the powerful.

God did that in the story of Gideon the Mighty man of valour who did not believe such a description of himself. He can do it through you too.

The angel of the Lord appeared to him and said, “Mighty hero, the Lord is with you!”

Then the Lord turned to him and said, “Go with the strength you have, and rescue Israel from the Midianites. I am sending you!” (Judges 6:12, 14)

Man, you can be a Solomon who is young and inexperienced now but God can make you into the Solomon that built the great temple for him, the wisest king that ever lived. That is how cool God is if you can trust Him.

Stop feeling or thinking you are not up to the task, God wants to do an amazing thing through you if you will allow him, bro!

Please Leave a Reply